Paralyzing Perfectionism

Why, hello there friends! It has been more than seven months since I last posted some confetti. YIKES! Let me tell you why.

I am constantly paralyzed by perfectionism.

Fun fact about Kellye Coleman – If she can’t do or say something perfectly, she runs in the other direction. She doesn’t even try. She freezes in fear, deer caught in bright headlights before what is certain to be a horrific crash. Yep, that’s me.

When I began this blog, I approached it in typical type-A, Kellye form. I had a plan for how, what and when I would post. I had a list of potential topics that was constantly growing, assembled with gusto and enthusiasm. But when my spring semester began to get out of hand, with more work than I’ve ever experienced – I shudder just thinking about it  – I diverted from the plan.

After a few weeks without posting, time not allowing me to do so, I abandoned ship in defeat. It wasn’t going as perfectly as I wanted. That wouldn’t do. So, let’s just give up altogether.

However, in the past few weeks I’ve really been challenged in regards to this perfectionism. God has been revealing to me just how self-centered I am, and my perfectionism is a perfect example of that. A recent sermon helped me see this. The pastor was speaking about doing  things from our own strength and will power. When we do this, and we succeed, it’s ALL about us – we take pride in that achievement and give ourselves the credit. On the other hand, if we fail, it’s an excuse for self-ridicule and loathing. It’s all about us.

However, if we rely on God’s strength, coming to Him and asking that He guide us in every thing that we’re doing, whether it’s cleaning the house, doing homework, training for a half marathon (I started training for my second one today!) or writing a blog post. If there is success, all glory and honor is His. If it flops, you are able to trust that it was for a reason.

That is how I have approached my last full semester of college, arms open wide, asking Christ to be, live and move in the middle of all that I do. It’s a daily prayer that has lead to a peace that I haven’t felt in a long time. There is no pressure for perfection, and I’m willing to approach situations without being positive that the result will be perfect. and that’s OK.

Are you paralyzed by perfectionism? Ask Christ to free you of that.

Have you asked God to guide you through the tasks, activities and projects you’re a part of? DO IT.

So, as I begin to post confetti again, I do so having asked my Father to be involved in the process. AND that means that I come without a pressure to post every day. If I only post once a month, so be it! If my posts are read by one person, so be it! It’s what He would have right now, and I can dig it. I hope you can too.

P.S. Feel free to let me know what you think of the new blog theme. Just thought I’d do something different.

4 thoughts on “Paralyzing Perfectionism

  1. I loved this post Kellye! We are SO much alike in our perfectionism and that has been my one challenge abroad so far. Classes in another language and struggling…what was I thinking! You are so right though in letting God help us through and to actually try, rather than run for the hills from everything we suspect we wont be number one in. Hope your last full semester is going well! Miss you, love you ❤

    1. Caitlin! I miss you dearly. I hope you’re loving Germany and know I’ll be praying for you, that God will be with you as you try to maneuver new surroundings and challenges. ❤

Leave a Reply

